NINETEEN-year-old rugby league sensation Selwyn Cobbo will fulfil a life-long dream to play Origin football next week having been named in the Maroons squad for Game 1.

The former Cherbourg Hornet junior takes the field as one of four Queensland Maroons debutants, including fellow Bronco Patrick Carrigan.

Cobbo’s blistering form on the wing for the Brisbane Broncos has earned him the Number 2 jersey.

Reuben Cotter and Jeremiah Nanai from the North Queensland Cowboys also received their first Origin call-up.

“They picked themselves,” Queensland Origin Coach Billy Slater said at a press conference this morning.

“I spoke to young Selwyn last night and they’re great phone calls. I remember my first phone call and they stick with you for the rest of your life.” 

When asked how Cobbo reacted to the news, Slater said “he said thank you a few times.”

“What you see is what you get with Selwyn,” he said.

“He’s taken the game by storm. He’s really lit the game up and adds so much excitement. 

“He’s doing a lot right that we don’t focus on as well, which is a big reason why he’s there.” 

On Cobbo’s selection on the wing, Slater said it’s a “position that we have been a little bit skinny in the past.”

When a young Cobbo missed out on Queensland selection in his junior years, his father Shamus encouraged him to be patient.

“I kept saying to him, wait for the big one mate.”

Now that wait is over.

Selwyn Cobbo’s parents, Kaylene Blair and Shamus Cobbo, at Cherbourg

Queensland selectors have also rewarded the consistent efforts of Charleville’s Kurt Capewell.

Daly Cherry-Evans will captain the Maroons for a fourth consecutive series.

Game one is next Wednesday June 8th at Accor Stadium in Sydney.

Queensland Maroons Game One squad

  1. Kalyn Ponga – Newcastle Knights
  2. Selwyn Cobbo – Brisbane Broncos
  3. Valentine Holmes – North Queensland Cowboys
  4. Dane Gagai – Newcastle Knights
  5. Xavier Coates – Melbourne Storm
  6. Cameron Munster – Melbourne Storm
  7. Daly Cherry-Evans – Manly Sea Eagles
  8. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui – Gold Coast Titans
  9. Ben Hunt – St George Illawarra Dragons
  10. Josh Papalii – Canberra Raiders
  11. Kurt Capewell – Brisbane Broncos
  12. Felise Kaufusi – Melbourne Storm
  13. Reuben Cotter – North Queensland Cowboys
  14. Harry Grant – Melbourne Storm
  15. Lindsay Collins – Sydney Roosters
  16. Patrick Carrigan – Brisbane Broncos
  17. Jeremiah Nanai – North Queensland Cowboys
  18. Tom Dearden – North Queensland Cowboys
  19. Jai Arrow – South Sydney Rabbitohs
  20. Thomas Flegler – Brisbane Broncos
  21. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow – North Queensland Cowboys
  22. Murray Taulagi – North Queensland Cowboys                                                   
Previous articleCluster fencing triggers “once in a century change”
Next article“Proudest day”: Littleproud new Nationals leader

Leave a Reply